Welcome to the webpage of the Trombone Studio at Texas State University. The School of Music offers several degree options at both the undergraduate and graduate level. Trombone Studies at Texas State are designed to challenge each student individually to elevate his or her level of musical performance and academic achievement. Ensemble opportunities include orchestra, three wind bands, four jazz bands, jazz combos, marching band, basketball pep band, salsa bands, brass quintets, trombone quartets, jazz trombone ensembles and trombone choir. The trombone ensembles are very active groups in the School of Music and have performed at the International Trombone Festival, American Trombone Workshop, Texas Music Educators Association Convention and the Big 12 Trombone Conference.

Studio members are regular prizewinners in international and national solo and ensemble competitions in addition to the university concerto competition. Graduates are accepted into some of the nation's most prestigious graduate programs such as the Juilliard School, Eastman School of Music, Yale University and Northwestern University. Others have a 100% job placement rate teaching in public schools in addition to university teaching posts. Studio members have also performed with ensembles such as the Boston Pops, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Houston Symphony Orchestra, Jacksonville Symphony, Count Basie Orchestra and the U.S. Army Jazz Ambassadors. 

The Trombone Studio has hosted numerous guest trombonists who perform recitals and masterclasses. Recent artists have included Ronald Barron (Boston Symphony), Ralph Sauer (Los Angeles Philharmonic), Weston Sprott (Metropolitan Opera), Brian Hecht (Atlanta Symphony), Steve Lange (Boston Symphony), Don Lucas (Boston University), Dennis Bupert (Fort Worth Symphony), Vanessa Fralick (Toronto Symphony), Zachary Bond (Malaysian Philharmonic), Marques Young (Malaysian Philharmonic), Abbie Conant (Staatliche Hochschule fur Musik), Amanda Stewart (St. Louis Symphony), Ivan Bosnjak (Croatian National Opera), The U.S. Army Brass Quintet, Ilan Morgenstern (Vancouver Symphony) and jazz artists such as Jiggs Whigham, Bill Watrous, Michael Davis, John Fedchock, Michael Dease, Reginald Chapman and Andre Hayward.

Please take a moment to follow our social media pages to stay connected with us. FACEBOOK | TWITTER | YOUTUBE | INSTAGRAM